Carrots everyone will love

One of the things Schatz and I are working on is eating more fruits and veggies. For me, it mostly means remembering to buy them more frequently. For Schatz, it means being sneaky. When I First met him he would eat green beans, zucchini, corn, apples, bananas, and of all things- Brussels sprouts.

He was the epitome of picky eater. On our first date I ordered Tomato Bisque and give him the opportunity to try it. He didn’t think he’d like it, but he quickly found it wasn’t that bad.

Now I grew up in a “try one bite” household, where I was expected to give everything at least one try. So, I was pleased he tried the soup. Since then, I’ve convinced him to try all sorts of things, including the recipe below.

Two weeks ago, while at Camp Groupon, I tried Burnt carrots with balsamic vinegar for the first time. Carrots are one vegetable I rarely like when cooked, but these were killer. Here’s what the professionals did-

20120717-181121.jpg

Thanks Bar Toma (Chicago) for the great dinner idea!

Over the weekend I decided to try and make some if my own. Since it was super hot and I lack a cast iron pan I had to alter a recipe I found on Epicurious. Below is my rough recipe for Chared/Burnt Carrots

Charred Carrots and Balsamic Vinegar

  • half a bag of whole carrots peeled and sliced into thumb sized strips about the width of your pinky
  • olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar (we used maple flavored balsamic found at a local olive oil store)

Toss carrots in olive oil seasoning with salt, pepper, and/or garlic. Spread onto cookie sheet (I made these in our toaster oven to avoid heating the house too much) and set oven to 400 degrees on broil. Depending on your oven allow 20-30 minutes until carrots begin to get a browned appearance (though not completely charred). When browned to you desired amount, remove from tray and toss with desired balsamic vinegar.

Serve with Goat Cheese for an even yummier experience.

What do you think?

