Being picked up

No- not like that.  Jeeze, I’m going to be a married woman, I don’t go trolling in bars trying to get picked up.

What I’m actually talking about is the experience of getting picked up by someone you love at the airport.  Whether it’s a fiance, mother, son, brother, etc.  The experience is not one that I’m overly familiar with.  In all honestly, I never flew too many places on my own before I was a working gal. However, in the recent years, I’ve been able to experience that exhilarating feeling of having someone wait for you at the arrivals baggage claim- and it’s amazing.

Walkway at O'Hare International Airport

The most magical (since I was 5 years old) airport walkway ever!

It’s wonderful to end your walk through the long terminal, moving walkways, and come up into the light to see your loved one looking for you eagerly. I’ve had great friends pick me up and now for the third trip, I’ve had my Schatz pick me up.

And this time, he finally got to do it the way he envisioned.  As a romantic (remember this is the guy who brought me a white rose and chocolate on our first date) he absolutely loves fighting the traffic, parking in the garage and waiting anxiously at the gate to give me a huge hug and kiss when he finally sees me. But he also has wanted to have something waiting for me.  A welcome home gift, if you will.

So upon my return from BlogHer, we made it to Jeeves (his Explorer) and he had a beautiful and heartfelt card, a bottle of wine and a CD waiting for me.  He also insisted (if I was  up for it) on taking me out for dinner.

We had a great time, hitting up Niko’s Lodge in Algonquin, IL.  They give complimentary S’mores that you get to toast yourself.  It was nice to have that alone time with him and re-acclimate to the non-blogging madness that is BlogHer12.

I’ll have more on some great items that I got to test, take home, and take advantage of at BlogHer in the coming months. In the meantime, however, this was my FAVORITE part of BlogHer.

4 thoughts on “Being picked up

  1. Two years this winter. He is, w/out a doubt, the absolute most caring person I know. He does little things like this all the time, and it’s totally unassuming and without motive.

  2. Wow. My husband use to do things like track down a movie theatre usher to get me a bandaid for my bleeding finger (on our first date.) He did come all the way to the city to pick me up. But it would be nice to get some of that romantic stuff happening. I mean, we’ve only been married five years, and together for just about 8. DANG!

    Perhaps the two kids have hindered the romantic gestures…..

    I will live vicariously through you!

  3. It’s actually one of the things we’ve talked about as we prepare for our wedding (still a year away). We talk about how we both show love and expect love a lot. These little gestures are one of the things he just does for everyone (just amped where I’m concerned). When we first started dating (literally about 3 months in) he waited at the airport nearly 8 hours because my flight was delayed- refused to leave even when I said I could take a bus. That commitment won my heart in an instant!

What do you think?

